Dear Mrs Bird

Author(s): A. J. Pearce

General

This charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertantly becomes a secret advice columnist is "a jaunty, heartbreaking winner" (People)--for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

Emmeline Lake and her best friend Bunty are doing their bit for the war effort and trying to stay cheerful, despite the German planes making their nightly raids. Emmy dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent, and when she spots a job advertisement in the newspaper she seizes her chance; but after a rather unfortunate misunderstanding, she finds herself typing letters for the formidable Henrietta Bird, renowned advice columnist of Woman's Friend magazine.

Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight into the bin. But as Emmy reads the desperate pleas from women who many have Gone Too Far with the wrong man, or can't bear to let their children be evacuated, she begins to secretly write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.

"Fans of Jojo Moyes will enjoy AJ Pearce's debut, with its plucky female characters and fresh portrait of women's lives in wartime Britain" (Library Journal)--a love letter to the enduring power of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and the courage of ordinary people in extraordinary times. "Headlined by its winning lead character, who always keeps carrying on, Pearce's novel is a delight" (Publishers Weekly). Irrepressibly funny and enormously moving, Dear Mrs. Bird is "funny and poignant...about the strength of women and the importance of friendship" (Star Tribune, Minneapolis).


Product Information

An irresistibly funny, charming and moving debut from a sensational talent, sure to be one of the best-loved and most talked-about books of the year

I love this book * Julie Cohen * AJ Pearce is one of those rare writers who make you laugh and cry on the same page and keeps you turning the pages until you've finished. A wonderful new voice * Katie Fforde * I've never read a novel that has grabbed me by the heart quite so much as this one * Shelley Harris *

AJ Pearce grew up in Hampshire and studied at the University of Sussex. She has worked in magazine publishing and home entertainment marketing. She now lives in the south of England and works freelance. Dear Mrs Bird is her first novel.

General Fields

  • : 9781509853908
  • : Pan Macmillan
  • : Picador
  • : April 2018
  • : 216mm X 135mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : April 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 823/.92
  • : 320
  • : A. J. Pearce
  • : Paperback
  • : 2018
  • : English