The Golden Child

Author(s): Wendy James

General

Shortlisted for 2017 Ned Kelly Award. When teenage cyberbullying ends in tragedy, who is to blame? 'A chilling novel of our time, with a truly shocking twist' Australian Women's Weekly Blogger Lizzy's life is buzzing, happy, normal.Two gorgeous children, a handsome husband, destiny under control. For her real-lifealter-ego Beth, things are unravelling. Tensions simmer with her husband,mother-in-law, her own mother. Her daughters, once the objects ofher existence, have moved into teenage-hood - their lives increasingly mysterious to her.Relocating from the US to Newcastle, she feels more distant than ever. Then a schoolmate is callously bullied and the finger of blame pointed at one of Beth's girls. As a child lies suspended between life and death, twofamilies are forced to question everything they believed about their children, and the answersare terrifying.This is a novel that grapples with modern-day spectresof selfies, selfishness and cyberbullying. It plays with our fears ofparenting, social media and queen bees, and it asks the question: how wellcan you know your child in the digital age?A potent story with shades of The Party and Mary Kubica.PRAISE FOR THE GOLDEN CHILD'The novel is cleverly constructed, the characters are extremely well-drawn, the use of social media as a plot device is very sophisticated, and the resolution is a genuine surprise' Judges' report, Ned Kelly Crime Awards, 2017'This is domestic noir at its most intelligent and sharp' Sydney Morning Herald'It takes 48 hours to pulse through Wendy James' rollercoaster 21st century about parenting' Australian Women's Weekly'an engaging and intimate read that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult, with nods to Lionel Shriver and Christos Tsiolkas' The Slap . . . 4 Stars' Books & Publishing'This book is utterly brilliant' Nicola Moriarty''Brilliant. Such a clever plot, and such real characters, and so very, very well written' Danielle HawkinsPRAISE FOR WENDY JAMES'S OTHER BOOKS'A wonderful, unputdownable story by a great Australian author' Liane Moriarty, Australian Women's Weekly'A penetrating picture of our life and times . . . a knockout' Canberra Times'Cunning psychological portraits and clean prose make for an absorbing domestic thriller' The Age

$19.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781460754566
  • : HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
  • : HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
  • : November 2017
  • : 2.4 Centimeters X 13 Centimeters X 20 Centimeters
  • : Australia
  • : December 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Wendy James
  • : Paperback
  • : 352